WHAT’S IN MY MARCH BOOK-BOX?!

img_3919

Since I started my job in a bookshop back in November, I buy books ALL the time. I’m talking like 2 a week – it’s an unaffordable lifestyle, especially as I don’t have the time to read them all! So, to combat this, and help me to read more diversely, I’ve put a shoe-box next to my bed, with one (or more) book from a different category to get me through the month, along with a ‘reward’ book I can only read once I’ve finished all the other books in the box for that month! Complicated, right? Here’s what’s in my Book-Box for next month:

 Young Adult/Children’s Book

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

I’ve wanted to read this for absolutely ages and finally bought it the other day! It’s definitely relevant to what’s going on in the world at the moment, with #protecttransrights such a topical event. I’m hoping it’s in a similar vein to The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson, which I was gifted last year and really enjoyed.

 

Biography

Foreskin’s Lament by Shalom Auslander

Auslander wrote one of my favourite books in existence with Hope: A Tragedy, so I’d probably read anything else he ever wrote, even if it was a catalogue of farts. Jokes aside, this is a beautiful and witty account of Auslander’s life growing up in a Jewish community. The humour is razor sharp and, at times, laugh-out-loud. For this reason, and of course, the title, perhaps this book isn’t best suited for commute-readers!

 

History

Black Earth by Timothy Snyder

Call me cynical, but ever since Trump’s been elected, I’ve been reading up on Hitler and the Holocaust. This refers to itself as a ‘warning’ and claims to show just how easily the WW2 atrocities could happen all over again. I almost hope his argument isn’t too convincing or I’ll be writing the rest of my posts from an underground bunker.

 

General Non-Fiction

Pretty Iconic by Sali Hughes

Be Awesome by Hadley Freeman

Both of these authors are my fave Guardian columnists/editors and I’m so so happy that they’ve both written books. I’ve already read Pretty Honest by Hughes, and loved it, so her follow-up book was a no-brainer buy. Pretty Iconic details 100 products that changed the beauty world, and I’m looking forward to learning TONS as I’m still a baby to this industry in comparison! Hadley Freeman’s Be Awesome is, essentially, the Bible of Feminism – in her straight-talking, no-nonsense way, Hadley tells us how to live our best lives and just, you know, be awesome. I’m in!

 

Wildcard!

Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

As a kid, I used to love poetry. I even used to write it. Milk and Honey is the kind of book I would have ADORED as a 14-year-old, and I’m fairly sure every 12-15-year-old girl in my town has a copy. It’s essentially a visual poem about love, loss, the human condition and the healing process. Very deep. Very emotive. I’m intrigued to see what all the hype is about, and if it lives up to it.

img_3752

 

REWARD BOOK! (Fiction)

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

I LOVE Sophie Kinsella. Like LOVE her. I don’t normally read chick-lit, nor do I particularly enjoy any other authors within this genre, but Kinsella is my Achilles heel. She has never written a book that wasn’t an instant favourite for me and I am SO excited to read her new offering! Time and time again, Sophie Kinsella delivers hilarious but relatable characters, without once feeling like she’s sticking to a formula. One thing that’s intriguing me about the blurb is that this book doesn’t seem to include a love interest – it focuses instead on a girl trying to get her job back/revenge on the boss who sacked her. I can’t wait to get started so I guess I’d better get cracking with my other books!

 

 

Thanks for reading! I’ll see you tomorrow for the FINAL day of #7daybloggingchallenge! ❤

Leave a Reply

