Have I already used up my feminist rant quota for this month? Probably. Do I care?

No.

Okay. Let’s get this over with.

Today, a national newspaper in England decided that this was an appropriate headline and story to describe the pre-EU negotiation talks between the leaders of Scotland and England:

legsit

 

Words can’t describe how I angry this made me. The only comforting thing is that all of my peers, and most of my idols took to social media to condemn this horrendous headline and call it out for what it was – sexism. Theresa May has since dismissed the headline as a ‘bit of fun’ but I fear this is far too mild a view to be taking. This is 2017. The female gender won the vote almost a century ago – this is as far as we’ve come in EIGHTY-NINE years.

Honestly, this disgusts me.

To further my point, here is a list of notable things that women have achieved and how long it took them to achieve it:

  • Versions of doctorate degrees have been around since 1179, and yet the first woman to gain one was Juliana Morell in 1608. That’s 429 years. FOUR HUNDRED.
  • In 1928 in England, all women became eligible to vote. Seems good, no? Yeah, this law wasn’t passed until 96 years after the first petition of female suffrage was presented to parliament. NINETY-SIX YEARS.
  • In America, there was never a rule stating that women couldn’t enter the legal profession – there are reports dating back as far as 1869 of women who wanted to be lawyers (who were denied the right to take the bar exams) – however, the Supreme Court didn’t appoint a female judge until 1981. That’s *at least* 112 years.

 

We, the female gender, are not seen as people.

I’m putting this out there now.

I know it’s hard-core, and I’m being dramatic but I’m not sure what else to believe at this point.

This excerpt from a poll, published by the same paper that ran the ‘Legs-it’ story, of 500 women to their attitudes towards rape, about sums it up: ‘The poll found that 54 per cent of women believe rape victims should be held accountable for their attack…Twenty-four per cent said wearing a short skirt, accepting a drink or having a conversation with the rapist made victims partly responsible’ [1] Never before have I hoped so acutely that the Daily Mail have fiddled their figures.

I don’t understand this. I can’t even begin to understand this.

What has gone so terribly wrong in our society that a man is allowed to treat a woman as an object and then expect her to shoulder the blame of not being able to control his impulses?

And not only that, but the fact that women have institutionalised this hatred of themselves, and started to regurgitate it back on themselves. So much for the sisterhood.

So, basically, there’s no hope.

Honestly, I’m so angry, I can’t cope. I’m sorry if this post seems a little all over the place, but that’s honestly how I feel today.

Sometimes I think I’d happily swap my gender in a split-second so that I didn’t have to deal with all this shit.

 

  • Did you know that until 1973 in the UK, a forced marriage was still legal in the eyes of the law?
  • Or that marital rape was legal in Germany until 1997? (Could be worse, Greece didn’t get there until 2006).

 

  • Or, that Grace Hoppen, along with Howard Aiken, invented the computer? Oh yeah, and Josephine Cochrane invented the dishwasher. Stephanie Kwolek invented Kevlar. And Margaret Knight invented the paper bag.

 

Just take a second and think about where we’d be without Margaret Knight. (Especially since the 5p plastic bag surcharge)

And where would I be, right now, without Grace Hoppen? (It would’ve taken twice as long to write this post for starters)

 

Actually, where would ANY of us be right now, if it weren’t for women?

 

I am more than the sum of my body parts. And so are you.

Fuck Legs-it.

[1] http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1251040/Rape-Its-fault-victims-say-50-women.html

